My First Car

Jose is Turning Forty

At some point, you start to see your life as a series of cars, unless you are blessed to live in a mass transit mecca like Boston or NYC. But growing up on Long Island, having a car was a must, even though I never had my own until I was 19. Between having two older sisters with cars as well as two parents with cars, I was rarely at a loss for a ride or a vehicle to borrow once I got my driver’s license. And unlike my sisters and a lot of kids I went to high school with, I had to wait for my own car.

I also had to be able to work enough to earn one. I worked from time to time through out high school, but my studies always took precedence. Then came 1993. It was the summer after my freshman year at Harvard…

View original post 382 more words

Leave a Reply

