Why are TfL pitting parents against wheelchair users?

London With a Toddler

tfl-bus_wheelchair_official

An argument on FaceBook yesterday made me realise – I have to wade into this whole “Buggy space vs Wheelchair space” debate thing. When it came on FaceBook, posted by someone who is neither a parent nor disabled, my first thought was “Gargh, how boring…this again?!” and assumed he was just stirring. He may well have been, but I’m grateful for the argument because it’s given me an amazing revelation on the subject which I’m going to share with you now.

The first thing I need to say is that, despite all the hype, it isn’t a huge issue. I have buggy-ed extensively round London and only once in nearly 4 years have had to move for a wheelchair. I’m terrible at folding my buggy because it’s always laden with stuff, so in that instance I just got off. I was somewhere in Pimlico and I walked the rest of…

View original post 991 more words

One thought on “Why are TfL pitting parents against wheelchair users?

Leave a Reply

