Bus Notes

Emma don't need no stinkin' college.

One of my favorite parts of living in a city is public transportation. Public transport is where I do all of my best people-watching and navel-gazing: on the subway in New York and on the bus in Dublin. Since my arrival in Dublin one month and nine days ago, I have taken the bus precisely sixty-five times. I am well on my way to mastering the #1/16 route between my house and my office. Now I’m going to share some of my notes from the #1 & #16.

I.

There is a girl who is always on the 8am #16 with me. When there’s space, she sits with her friends; when there isn’t, she sits next to me. She’s about my age, and wears a full burka with face covering. She carries a different purse every day — she has a rotation of at least twenty. Every morning, she opens her notebook and…

View original post 612 more words

Leave a Reply

