Dianne Johnston

This morning I stopped to fill my gas tank and discovered I didn’t have my credit card.  I had to pay cash and only had $7.00.

gas guage

After pumping the full amount, I noticed that my guage had not moved.

I assumed the pump was broken and complained to the station attendant.  He assured me the amount of gas I had purchased was delivered by the pump to my car and gave me the contact person to verify the pump’s accuracy.

As I was driving away I calculated the amount of gas that $7 would buy – 2.2 gallons and realized I needed a more sensitve guage to verify purchases less than $10.00.

OR

I needed to adjust my reality indicators.

Credit card purchasing had removed me from  direct contact with the experience of cash purchases and reduced my awareness of just how much of my money I was spending.

I…

View original post 8 more words

Leave a Reply

