Festivities: Happy Birthday to Tube

Fabulous and other f* words

If, like me, you wondered why today’s Google Doodle was a Tube map but didn’t have enough time to find out why, let me tell you. It was because today the London Underground celebrated it’s 150th birthday. I surely can’t be the only one who finds this incredible?

One hundred and fifty years of that rush of warm air sweeping through the stations. A century and a half of that instantly recognisable musty, yet comforting, smell. What stories those beautiful historic Art Deco stations must hold? Their more modern counterparts hinting at stories yet to unfold.

When I lived in London about ten years ago I used the Tube pretty much everyday and (most of the time) I loved it. When I return to the big smoke I can’t help but chuckle at the Londoners who whinge about their transport system. They seriously don’t know how good they’ve got…

View original post 355 more words

Leave a Reply

